I don’t feel like exercising because…

Pardon me but what?

I’m too tired…

Lack of sleep reduces muscle mass and strength, increases fat tissue, and weakens the immune system. Tiredness can also be caused by an iron deficiency.

I would… Go to bed early, exercise early in the morning, train light, change my training to something more fun (snow shoeing, booty bootcamp, laughing yoga…), change the training style, sprint, tabata, circuit, do it anyway!

I’ve got an injury…

Well, don’t we all?

I would… Work every body part that is not hurt, stop any exercise that hurts, tell my doctor to fix me, now!

I’m pregnant…

Really? Too bad/Congratulations! You are still a healthy person, not a broken flower. Keep up with your swimming, walking, weight training, yoga and stretches, learn how to strengthen your pelvic floor.

I would… Not get pregnant!

There is not enough time in the day…

I’ve got a 20 min at home routine that will kick you back into gear. Just ask! Park your car, stay away from the elevator, be organized, wake up earlier, hell don’t spend so much time eating!

I would… MAKE time!

I hate to exercise…

Then eat accordingly and prepare to die!

I would… totally agree with you, spend more time running after my Bulldog, bike to run my errands, run to work, try Zumba or Sword Fit, dance, play WII fit, follow an exercise video, register for a charity event, watch TV when I train.

I don’t look good…

Speechless, how did you get there in the first place? Not judging, deep breath…

Been there.

I would… Find a partner who’s physically where you are, stick together, exercise outdoors or in small private facilities… Ah ah! Avoid the crowd, visualize!

I’m too lazy…

Oh you need me! If you can’t afford to train regularily with a trainer, set some realistic goals, ask for help from friends and family.

I would… Team up, take advantage of the time I’m energized, publicly announce my expectations so I can be held accountable, treat my training time like any other appointment, try a place like Curves (easy), or Train on Main (slightly more intense…).

I’m afraid to get hurt…

Valid. Start slow, try beginner classes, train with a professional.

I would… Adopt you!

I get no support from my family and friends…

Just give me his phone number! No seriously I get it!

I would… ignore their behaviour, stick to my plan, surround myself with people that think like me, cover my journal with pictures of where I want to be, what I want to achieve, change country… Oh wait I’ve already done this 6 times before!

I hear this day in & day out but at the end of the day you need to keep moving, eat less, let go of your attachments, have fun, join forces with family, friends, coworkers, and remember: “When the grass looks greener on the other side of the fence, it may be that they take better care of it there.” ~Cecil Selig 

This entry was posted in Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

