Weight-in sanity!

You should own a scale. Not that it matters what weight you are (or maybe it matters) but rather to keep you from falling off your health path.

What do you know?

The body mass index (BMI), or Quetelet index, is a measurement which compares a person’s weight and height. Though it does not actually measure the percentage of body fat, it is a useful tool to estimate a healthy body weight based on how tall a person is. It was invented between 1830 and 1850”. Gosh it’s old…

I mean my BMI is 25, therefore I’m “overweight”. I don’t fit well with standards and neither should you so instead of weighing yourself everyday (you know who you are), sometimes twice a day (YEP!), ask yourself what your definition of health is!

If you Google ” Health,” the 1st 100 sites are all about fitness and nutrition of course, I tell you about  it  every day. Beyond that, my picks are:

  • A healthy body can fight diseases and handles stress better with a strong immune system.
  • A healthy human body is capable of REMAINING healthy if we don’t keep throwing it off the track with the desire for instant gratification.
  • The state of being free from illness or injury.
  • A state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.

What do you need?

To manage food, exercise, sleep, stress, work, learning, financial security, family life, housing, social participation, leisure, security, environment, the list is tiring…

And how exactly do you get there?

I personally like Yoga with its 8 limbs:

Universal morality, Personal observances, Body postures, Breathing exercises and control of energy, Control of the senses, Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness, Devotion, Meditation, Bliss, the rest should follow. For the nit-pickers counting along, I know that’s more than eight, but trust me, in sanskrit it’s eight. They just don’t translate very well.

Again, that’s my choice, it all comes down to what is important to you.

I love to be strong, my resting heart rate is 45, I run with my dog, I swim with my friends, my last cold was in 2008…

On the other hand, I sleep 5 hours/night, love my job, am broke, hate my condo, don’t see my friends enough and love ice cream too much.

Does my scale reflect that? Absolutely! But it’s not telling me anything I don’t already know.

I need to sit down and set new priorities! (non weight related) because like Albert Einstein defined : “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”. Maybe this time the gooey cherry sundae from Dairy-Queen will give me skin-tearing muscle pump, road-map vascularity and explosive workouts.

This entry was posted in Body composition. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weight-in sanity!

  1. Ann Sullivan says:

    Your honesty is so beautiful! And necessary!

    Thank you for sharing this…and seriously, I don’t want to be trained, or guided, or helped by someone who is telling me that they have it all together and have all the answers, I want someone who is human, and in process, and willing to talk about it.

    I trust you when I hear this, it makes me think you know yourself, you have places you see that you want to improve upon, but that you are consciously working on them.

    Thank you Martina!! See you tomorrow for a great workout!

Leave a Reply

